Košice Self-Governing Region

The territory of the Slovak Republic is divided into eight regions. Košice Self-Governing Region is situated in the south east Slovakia. Its neighbour to the north is Prešov Region and to the west that of Banská Bystrica. To the south it shares a border with Hungary and to the east with Ukraine (Schengen border of EU). Over 770 000 inhabitants live within the territory of Košice Region (6 753 km2). About one third of inhabitants live in the city of Košice – the regional capital which is also the second largest city in Slovakia.


BICY Implemented in the Central Europe Programme (www.central2013.eu) is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).